Inspiration Invitations: Grace Dent

Originally posted on General Musings of an Idiot.

Having sunk a glass or two of the rather lovely dark variety of wine, this could be a very strange piece. I apologise in advance, but equally, this could be the best blog you’ve ever read. So keep your eyes peeled.

This is the third and final instalment of my series, known as ‘Inspiration Invitiations’. As explained before, this is a set of posts that depict and display the people who inspire me, and it’s me inviting you to be inspired by them too. Simple.

Today, it’s the turn of the lovely Grace Dent. Now there’s not a lot to say, to be quite honest with you, other than the fact she is the reason I want to be a journalist.

201110_grace_dent

There’s hundreds and thousands of journalists around the globe, all reporting on different things. But nobody can get away with the tone and the language Grace uses, and still make it funny, interesting, and make you looking forward to the next article.

Her TV OD series for the Guardian has me in stiches every week – because she says what she thinks, and what we all think. It’s a remarkable gift to have, and she most certainly has it.

I have wanted to be a journalist since the age of 11, and at about 14 I found her works for the first time. And that’s the reason I decided that was my life ambition, and that’s what I want to do for a career. She made that decision for me by becoming my role model.

I want to be able to write what I want, when I want to, with the same tone she does. I want to be able to speak my mind, and have that accepted by the vast majority of my readers. I want to be as successful as she is, and become the most wonderful person she is.

I met her at Twight Night at the turn of the month, and was so unbelievably starstruck by her that I couldn’t even say two words to her. The fact she was sat in a chair with Caitlin Moran made it all the better, and I had to ask isobel to keep me sane.

If it weren’t for Grace, her wonderful writing, and her brilliant personality, I wouldn’t want to be a journalist. I’d be a travel agent, or an assistant in Asda, or a cotton weaver in the 1860’s. But it is thanks to her that my life has a plan and an ultimate goal, and I’m very very proud to say she has influenced that.

If you get a chance, go find her writing – you won’t be disappointed. Likewise with her most recent book, ‘How To Leave Twitter’ – one of the best pieces of writing released this year.

Thankyou Grace – from the very very bottom of my heart. You have helped make my dreams become a reality.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

